Journal #25

The first draft of Brink (Ruin Saga #2) passed the 60,000 word mark yesterday. That puts me at around halfway through my projected manuscript length, and I’m pleased with the time. I’m going to have to pick up the pace with the plot, though, otherwise I’m going to run over by a few ten-thousand words.

I’m planning to be finished with the first draft by mid-September. Then I’ll give it the stew-in-a-drawer treatment for a few weeks, run my red pen over it and give it a thorough hiding, and then it’ll be off for editing mid-October. From there, the schedule will take us toward a planned February-March 2015 release.


Computer virus
Computer screen flickering + popups = writer’s worst mightmare

I had a scare this morning: my computer decided to contract a virus. To be honest, I can’t remember the last time I had one of those. I’m pretty careful with downloads and web activity, and meticulous in maintaining my antivirus software (hard learned from many years of screwing up laptops and computers in my youth). I’d almost forgotten what it was like to have that all-consuming panic sweep over you when you remember that you haven’t backed up for the last few weeks.

I really thought I was going to lose about two hundred pages of fresh writing. I haven’t known adrenaline and terror like that for years.

But I got my redundant drive slammed in just in time. Having checked the copy on another machine, I can confirm all is well.

Big sigh.

Still, a little bit of wee came out.


Ruin‘s release is only four days away, now. Eight years, I’ve been writing, and the day of my debut is finally on my doorstep. There’s little to say now that I haven’t already. My pen is poised to check off that big bold entry on my ‘things to do before you die’ list.

I’ll be posting about the release on social media, here there and everywhere. If you’d grab a copy to support the book and me, I’d be in your eternal debt.

Stay safe, kids.

Leave a Reply

